Tags

, , ,

1 February 2024

You know . . . if it’s not one thing . . .

Taking a page from my friend, Michelle, over at Boulderneigh, this morning. Here are some photos from my life in the past week or so.

We had a brutal cold snap just after I returned from my holiday trip to Connecticut. I got home on Wednesday, January 10th, and on Friday the 12th, we had the second of two snowstorms. Then, we dropped down into the deep freeze. And when I say deep freeze, I mean temps substantially below zero for 16 days in a row, and a number of days with windchills in the -35 (Fahrenheit) neighborhood. Last week it finally started to warm up, and last Friday enough of the snow and ice had melted that I was able to get out for a walk around the pond – something I hadn’t been able to do for quite awhile. I was stunned to see this house. I’m guessing that either it’s empty, or that the owners are snowbirds. I let the village know about it – the pipe(s) had to have burst during the cold snap to have built up that much of a waterfall of ice. Oh, and you can clearly see the giant hornet/wasp nest that’s still on the tree there to the right. I’m really surprised that no one alerted the village before I did. The McMansions in this newest subdivision in my village were being built in 2006. When the market crashed in 2007, the subdivision was never completed. I wouldn’t be surprised if the house is vacant. But man, whoever owns it is going to have one hell of an insurance claim. If it looked this bad outside, I cannot even imagine how bad the damage is inside. 

I did a bit of playing with the demo 54 cylinder that I borrowed from the manufacturer of my sock machine. It didn’t really work for what I had hoped (leg warmers), but Isabell Kraemer had recently released a pattern called Fluffy and Snug, and the wrist warmers called for 54 stitches. So I adapted the pattern to crank them on my machine. The bottom is how they look finished. I will tell you that it took for fricking ever to Kitchener the ends. But they came out pretty nice – and I hid my Kitchener on the inside ;-D I got a little biasing on the first one that I finished, but none of the others have done that, so I think it’s more to do with my Kitchener than anything else. 

I have not regretted the Air Fryer I got that has the rotisserie. My trussing pattern needs a little work, but it works well enough :-D

I took myself on an Artist’s Date over to Barnes & Noble in a neighboring town on Monday. I was just so thrilled to see her, and if I could have sneaked her out under my big coat somehow, I probably would have done so ;-D 

Do you not recognize her? She’s Hilary Knight’s wonderful illustration of Kay Thompson’s Eloise.

And finally – further to the title of this post, I went into the city on Tuesday to have my hearing evaluated. In September, when I had my physical, I had mentioned to my doc that I found myself saying “What did you say?” more often and since I couldn’t remember the last time I had had a hearing test, he suggested I should get that set up. I made the call back in September, but the first available was the last Tuesday in January! I know I hear better out of my right ear, and I have found that I do better now with closed captions watching the British/Scottish/Irish shows that I love even though I’m very familiar with all those accents (family, friends, an ex-husband, you get the picture). And I’d been joking about getting my hearing checked. But never in my wildest dreams did I think I would receive a diagnosis of Normal to Moderately Severe hearing loss in both my ears with my left ear being worse than my right. About 2/3rds of my hearing over multiple frequencies is majorly diminished. This was extremely upsetting to me. I’ve been a musician in one form or another pretty much my entire life. I’ve already lost my singing voice, which was my major instrument. The thought that I could lose even more of my hearing was and is very distressing to me.

It’s nerve damage, which comes from environment, loud noise, and genetics. I know my mom needed hearing aids near the end of her life, and apparently my voice was in the frequency that she couldn’t hear well . . . . Anyway, I’ve had a discussion with my primary doc about this and he’s really glad I had the evaluation and that I’ve made the second appointment, which is where I have a consultation with the audiologist. I couldn’t get back in until the end of March, but that’s OK. The research I did – and he confirmed this – is that hearing loss can lead not only to isolation, but also to loss of cognitive function. I’m already isolated because I live alone, and I’m really not interested in any loss of cognitive function. So . . . hearing aids it is. I cannot even tell you how sad I am about this. It feels like a huge loss to me. I mean, I can still hear and I’m not going deaf, but it’s another sign of my aging body, and I just don’t like acknowledging that time marches on, I guess. I’m trying hard to process this latest piece of aging. I’ll be talking to my therapist about it this afternoon. 

I had been thinking about getting my bagpipes going this year but now I’m not so sure. There are some special ear plugs – Etymotic – that they can fit for me that might allow me to keep playing. Part of me wants to explore that, but part says not to fool around with the hearing I still have. It’s on my list of questions for the audiologist when I see her again at the end of March.

In happier news, on my way home from the train on Tuesday, I saw these in my front yard. It feels like it’s early for them, but I guess we’ll see how they do. 


Some Chicago-style R&B with the late Big Twist. Don’t we all wish we could turn back time every now and then?

This is Big Twist and The Mellow Fellows – Turn Back the Hands of Time