Tags

, , ,

20 April 2024

Alrighty then. If you’re a regular reader (thank you!) you might recall that back in January I had a hearing test where I received a diagnosis of Normal to Moderately Severe hearing loss in both my ears with the left one being worse than the right. This was extraordinarily upsetting to me, but after doing some research and finding that there’s a definite correlation between hearing loss and cognitive decline, I reconciled myself to the fact that I was going to need hearing aids.

Here are some of the things I wrestled with:

  • Hearing aids are for “old” people. Yeah, it doesn’t matter that I’m on Medicare. I’m not “old.”
  • Hear aids are clunky/dorky/BIG. Mine are mini (!)
  • They squeal when someone gives you a hug. Mine won’t.
  • Am I disabled if I have to wear hearing aids? No.
  • Am I no longer a bagpiper? Never mind that I hadn’t piped seriously in at least a decade, this would have been the summer that I “got my pipes going.” (Yeah, right ;-) ) Once a piper, always a piper.
  • Is my hearing really that bad?? I was on the borderline and it was way worse than I realized.

I worked through these things, and made my peace with all of them. And then, at the end of March, I went back to the audiologist for a consultation appointment and to order my hearing aids. In fact, by then, if they had had red ones I would have been sorely tempted to get them (they didn’t and I settled on charcoal grey to match my salt and pepper hair).

And yesterday was the day. Even though I was reconciled to getting them and knew that they would be best for me, I had been dreading the day I would actually get them. I was not at all looking forward to a trip into the city (which I love), because it meant that I would be coming home wearing hearing aids.

You guys, I had absolutely no clue how much I was missing.

Oh. My. God.

The difference is so amazing, and I am so thrilled with them (and they are not even turned all the way up yet) that all my fears and unhappiness about getting them were washed away in an instant. Literally.

Here I am on my way back to the train.

That, my friends, is the face of a very happy woman. Can you see my hearing aids? Exactly!

Here’s my right ear. I swear I’m wearing them.

And here’s my left ear. You might have better luck seeing it on this shot, even though it’s a little blurry.

Here they are, and they are smaller than they look. Red is for right, blue is for left. The little tale is in my outer ear and helps keep them in place.

I’ve had minor itching. Nothing like when I tried one on at my consultation. I had been really worried about the itching, because, when they itch it’s pretty much unbearable. Well, these don’t really itch. Today later in the afternoon the left one started up and I ended up taking it out and then re-seating it. It’s been fine ever since. I’m using the anti-itch cream at night as directed, and I imagine that, eventually, my ears will get used to having something in them all the time.

I’m really looking forward to getting back some energy – the energy I’ve been expending trying to hear, always concentrating harder to hear, and worrying about missing stuff. Stressful even when you’re not actually aware of it happening – just like hearing loss. Gradual over time so that the brain begins to compensate until it can do so no longer. Well, I’m getting all that energy back to be able to use it toward other things. Yay!! Meanwhile, my brain is busy making new neural pathways, which is good for any brain at any time. :-)

I seriously had no earthly clue my hearing loss was as bad as it is. I tested it last night while watching telly. These hearing aids have an app that I can use to control them (it’s very cool), and I shut them off while watching telly. The difference without them floored me. What I had been hearing before without realizing it, was muffled – like hearing something at the far end of a tunnel. I turned them back on and could instantaneously hear.

It’s a little overwhelming and I’m not ashamed to say that cried again at the audiologist’s office. This time, however, they were tears of joy at what I’ve gotten back.

If you’re over 50 it’s time to get a hearing test, even if it’s just to give you a baseline. Think about it – it could change your life. :-)


I haven’t heard this tune in awhile. There was a cover band in Portoroz in what used to be Yugoslavia (it’s Slovenia now) when I was there a very long time ago, and I remember hearing them rehearse it over and over and over. Enjoy

This is Stevie Wonder – As